Top 10 for '10: Number 7

-A A +A

Minutemen hoopsters romp in Seminole

By Mike Forster

  The Liberty basketball crew started the year with hopes of a return to Richmond, with a shot at State glory.  While the Minutemen fell a bit short of that lofty goal, they still rang up an impressive season.  The M-Men ran through the Seminole District with little difficulty, going 11-1, in taking the regular season title.  They also ran the table in taking the district tourney trophy.  But, as in football, Liberty would see its season end at the hands of Blue Ridge foe Northside, during the Region III playoffs. Nonetheless, Liberty had much of which to be proud.  The team was led by Anthony Reynolds (shown below), who was named the Seminole District’s Player of the Year.  Additionally, the Minutemen were paced by All-Seminole selectees Ryan Nichols (First Team) and Dillon Stith (Second Team).  Head Coach Jeff Monroe was named the Seminole Coach of the Year.